Best Contemporary Jazz Album of the Year - Juno 2008 Nominee! (Read press release)

Metaphora - Altered Laws Jazz Quartet
Metaphora explores many sounds - Latin, pop, Brazilian, mainstream and avant-garde jazz, - subtly at times, and others with intense forward-drive. The compositions (originals by Black and Keenlyside) are all melodic, as are the phrases and solos of the musicians, but melody can be hypnotic, light-hearted, surreal, eager, it can lurk just around the bend - such as in the track “One O’ Clock Slump,” and it can soothe heart and soul as we lay our worries by the wayside - such as in “Back Bacon." Metaphora is a wayfare through jazz in its many forms as played by expert musicians.

Metaphora - Tracks
1. It’s Real
2. Pablo
3. Olinda
4. One O’ Clock Slump
5. Mind the Gap
6. Isabella
7. Quando Ela Volta
8. Ozymandias
9. Back Bacon
10. Eclipse

Buy the CD!

Also available: HMV stores in Vancouver, Toronto and Montreal

"Great album ... sounds wonderful!" - Paul Grant, host of CBC's Hot Air
< Home